Monday, June 1, 2009

WWE No Way Out 2009 Review by Wrestling UFC Dot Com

New champ. Same as the old champ.

- From Seattle, Washington. Original airdate: 2/15/09

- HHH d. WWE champion Edge, Undertaker, Jeff Hardy, Big Show & Vladimir Kozlov in an Elimination Chamber (36:00, ***1/2). At this rate, HHH will have like 30 title runs before he retires. Anyways, odd placement having the Smackdown EC curtain jerking. I was also surprised at the early elimination of Edgekins, but this match was excellent once they got rid of Kozlov.

- Backstage, Edge complained to Vickie then Randy cut a promo.

- Randy Orton d. Shane McMahon in a No Holds Barred match, RKO -- pin (18:15, **1/2). Shane's onslaught in this match was silly as it looked incredibly unconvincing to see Orton oversell every bit of Shane-O-Mac offense. This was your usual Shane Spotfest match, though that's not essentially a bad thing, but I wish they wrapped the spots around something better instead of a few basic kicks and punches. Shane must not have any friends, since no one ran to the ring to help him like Orton's flunkies did. The ending was also EXTREMELY telegraphed and having your Mania main eventer needing to squeak a win over Shane is pretty retarded.

- ECW champion Jack Swagger d. Finlay, Blue Thunder Bomb -- pin (8:00, *1/2). What poor PPV planning with this match coming on after the real main events. And it's also the first bad match of the night as this was worse than the two matches they had on free TV, but at least the shillelagh didn't play into the finish this time. Matt Striker was his usual amazing self on commentary.

- Backstage HBK was praying.

- Shawn Michaels d. JBL to end slavery, three moves of doom -- pin (13:30, **). This match was disappointing as it was treated as a throwaway match; way too shotgun a genuinely interesting angle between JBL and HBK in such an anticlimactic manner. Becky (apparently trying to get Shawn DQed so he would lose the rights to his name) punched JBL.

- Edge d. World champion John Cena w/ Superman cape, Chris Jericho w/ out Countdown, Kane, Mike Knox w/ beard & Rey Mysterio in an Elimination Chamber match (29:50, ***1/2). Odd that Cena vs Midcarders is the main-event and I was disappointed to see Kofi get taken out pre-match, as Edge attacked him in order to take his place in the Chamber. Anyways, except for the Mike Knox segment, this match was really good with the "hey whoa" moment of Cena not overcoming the odds by going out early and Rey and Edge doing nearfalls at the end that made it seem like Mysterio was going to inexplicably win the world title. Hmm, screw HHH, at this rate Edge will beat Flair's record before anyone else.

- Final Thoughts: I liked the surprise at the end, even if OMG! EDGE STOLE THE BELT~! is getting a bit tiresome at this point (as are Edge's one-month title reigns). And what's up with Matt Hardy or Christian not making an appearance seeing as they're kinda pivotal to what they're involved in?!

No comments:

Post a Comment

  © Free Blogger Templates Columnus by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP