From Providence, Rhode Island. Original airdate: 4/26/09
Christian d. ECW champion Jack Swagger, killswitch (formerly unprettier) -- pin (***).
Christian's theme is awesome. Anyways, this was a nice match and good opener as this was the only real match with constant psychology, which actually influenced the way in which the matches ended, with Swagger getting the better of Christian for the entire match only to have Christian to take it all and get an opportunistic ending. The top turnbuckle DDT was also sick and glad to see Christian win a belt, even if it is ECW. Speaking of which, WWE is calling "Christian's first World Title". Heh. (As a matter of fact this is his third reign with a PWI-recognized World Heavyweight Title; he's a two-time former NWA World Heavyweight Champion).
Meanwhile, Edge and Christian finally had their long-awaiting meeting backstage. Good stuff as that segment reeked of awesomeness.
Chris Jericho d. Ricky Steamboat w/ Just For Men hair color, Walls of Jericho -- submission (**1/2).
OMG Steamboat turned back the clock... with his hair! Anyways, I thought that was the most sad Steamboat has looked; he was best in the tag match on Raw when he could sell and take rests. Don't get me wrong, Steamboat still has it, but he only looked good thanks to Jericho and it was still a nice match, despite the fact Steamer couldn't pull the figure 4. I also love how Jericho can hold a headlock for five minutes and make it entertaining; ASK HIM! C'MON REF, ASK HIM!
Kane d. CM Punk, chokeslam -- pin (**).
I have no idea how he does it, but CM Punk is literally the only guy who's had decent matches with both Kane and JBL. Anyways, this match was ok as Kane was selling the areas that were being worked on, to the extent that it resulted in a altered finisher from Kane, with Kane using the leg to pick him up. On a sidenote, Punk's matches are becoming repetitive with kick, kick, Shining wizard, Bulldog, G2S; maybe he realizes how well five moves worked for Hogan and Cena...
Jeff Hardy w/ out Face Paint d. Matt Hardy in an I Quit match, threatening to legdrop him through a table from the top of a ladder -- submission (**).
Wait, this is an I Quit match? Tully/Magnum this wasn't. Anyhoo, this feud never got over like it should have and the matches were all disappointing since no one wanted to see them fight each other, but that's nothing they shouldn't have known before they went ahead with it. Anyways, this wasn't the spot match it was meant to be, as it was really sloppy. I appreciate Matt trying to ground his brother but what's the point when Jeffykins didn't sell his leg at all; he even landed on his feet after his ladder jump as if it wasn't bad enough already with Matt selling Jeff's sloppy one leg submission harder than Jeff selling all 10 of those Matt put on him. The finish was also hilarious with Jeff duct taping Matt to a table showing that he's into bondage. And although Matt ended up quitting, I don't see this really either helping Jeff or hurting Matt. And it's not like Jeff hasn't delivered crazier highspots in the past (see Whisper of the Wind to Umaga off Steel Cage).
Miss Wrestlemania champion Santina Marella d. Beth Phoenix (DUD).
Oh damn, a Glamarella breakdown?! So the Miss Wrestlemania title is the new hardcore title? Defended 24/7? Anyways, this was a total trainwreck involving Great Khali and a wacky misunderstanding about an alleged affair between Santina and JR, but it was worth sitting through to hear JR absolutely BURN Michael Cole - "Mr. Bar-B-Q man? Who fed you that line?"
The Legacy d. WWE champion HHH, Batista & Shane McMahon, Orton Punt -- pin Triple H (**1/2).
I really wish they would change Orton's theme song already; it's sooo bad (IIIII HEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAR VOOIIIICEESSS IN MYY HEAAAAD). Anyways, this feud is so unbelievably boring and the crowd could care less as well as Legacy were shown weaker than they are supposed to be. They are nothing like Evolution, DX or the Hart Foundation as they look very weak each and every time; hell even the Nation of Domination was a stronger group than them. Also joining Legacy has done absolutely nothing for Rhodes and Dibiase; they're basically pawns/fall guys for Orton as they barely talk or anything. Never seen such useless members in a stable, except maybe Mongo in the Horsemen. Anyhoo, they basically focused more on HHH's reaction here than Shane's. Orton walked out midway through as Dibiase & Rhodes got buried by the HHH Omega Squad. End came when Orton pinned H3; I guess Triple H only allowed this so he can break Flair's record. Post-match, the fans sing the NANANANA NANANANAN HEY HEY GOODBYE song to HHH. I Digg the anti HHH sentiment by the crowd.
Edge d. World champion John Cena in the Last Man Standing match, outside interference -- KO (***1/2).
The match was great as the spots well great and the crowd was totally on them (after all the booing, the crowd finally went on Cena's side), though there were too many long counts, and I expected an out and out brawl to near-death and I get fifty near falls. A couple of cool spots saw a thrown steps spot and the second rope FU was a sweet touch. It's just a shame that for every good spot there was a stupid one. Anyways, this was good until Big Show showed up and finished the match with a cheesy ending as he chokeslammed Cena through a lighting rig making this Edge's ninth world championship reign; he's a four-time WWE Champion and five-time World Heavyweight Champion. (He and Triple H are now tied for the highest number of reigns with the latter) and he has also won a World title three times this year, and it's only April! He will beat Flair's record before HHH does.
Final Thoughts: Overall, I think it was a really good PPV, not as good as NWO, but better than the Rumble. Both title matches were better than the ones at Wrestlemania, and Edge-Cena was their usual super match. Plus Christian/Swagger was awesome, plus Christian won the most prestigious world title of his career, plus CHRISTIAN AND EDGE TALKED.
Man of the Night: "Little Slobberknocker?" "BBQ-Man?" Kissing JR? Santina is too awesome.
Death Threat of the Night: Beth, please stop talking. She ruined the Santina segment.
Best Match of the Night: Edge v. Cena - Great match
Worst Match of the Night: Beth v. Santina - Total trainwreck
Jobber of the Night: Dibiase and Rhodes - they weren't doing too bad when they were the tag champs and I just wish the WWE would let them do something once in a while beyond getting beat every week by Man God. What's the point of getting to the main event if it's always a bury each week?
Blown Spot of the Night: Ricky forgetting how to do the Figure 4.
Surprise of the Night: The fact Steamboat can outwork most workers in WWE and TNA is a sad state of current wrestling.
Well Done: Khali's music was one of the best things about this PPV. I have it on their latest album and it's actually addicting.
Over Done: Big Show coming out made NO SENSE.
Homo-erotic Moment: Jeff duct taping Matt? I bet all the fat girls who write erotic Hardy fanfiction went crazy after that.
Screw the Smarks: Edge won his first title at new years's revolution 2006, now 3 years and a couple months later he is a NINE time champion! That is as good an illustration as there is of how downhill wrestling has gone since many of our youths.
Idiot of the Night: Kane winning killed the momentum from the first two matches. Zzz.
Quotable Quotes: JR to Cole: "Mr. BBQ Man? Who fed you that line?"